Spey Pages banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guy I am new to spey fishing and would like to know what setup to use for the surf. We have a huge blitz on the way as we speak and I will try my luck at the surf this weekend FRI-SAT. I am wondering what setup to use I have a 12 1/2 foot TFO 8wt and would like to use a shooting head system if possible. I am going to be over head casting and fishing jetties probably.

Thanks guys!

·
Junkyard Spey
7,114 Posts
Simon calls for an Outbound WF 10 (425grns) line for overhead on that rod. In my view that would be a good place to start.

A WC VersiTip 8/9/10 with the center section removed should also work well and give you multi tip versatility.

·
loco alto!
3,109 Posts
the Outbound sails, but I didn't like the stretchy integrated running line, so replaced it with Airflo Polyshoot XT on Sean's advice, great stuff.

It is hard to find 38' heads on their own w/o integrated running lines. It so happens that a lot of full-length flylines on the market have a belly around 38' (or close enough) if you dig into the mfg specs. For the most part they make very good working shooting heads by cutting off the running line. I've done this with SA Wetcel full sink lines, and Airflo Clear Intermediate "striper" and "tarpon" tapers. I haven't done it with floating lines - I prefer to fish these as full floaters.

Taking scissors to a brand new line just to make a shooting head is a tough pill to swallow, but easier if it only cost $20. eBay is good for that, considering mfgs generally don't make 35-40' heads, except I think (perhaps?) some of the European mfgs make more expensive spey shooting heads that can be cut down.

Your rod can probably handle 35' of LC-13 as well, provided you slow down.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Mr. Winston, if you go with 30' shooting heads, I think you will want 11-weights for that particular rod. You will need to get your hands on one to try it out.