Spey Pages banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I'm really new to spey fishing and yesterday I finally got out on a river with my new CND Solstice 13'4" 6/7. I'm running a S/A shorthead 6/7 line on it.

The problem I found was that my leader was not turning over or rolling out straight at all. Even on test casts using an overhead technique the 13 foot leader I was using just died on me. I was using straight 20lb Orvis Mirage. The fly I was using was a weighted size 4 rabbit leech.

What's the problem? Do I need a heavier butt section? Should I taper a leader? I've heard straight/even leaders are fine. I thought 20lb would be stiff enough to turnover a relative light fly.

I have a 6" section of 30lb Maxima as a loop connector from the fly line but I don't think that's the issue. Is my fly too heavy?

How heavy a fly can a 6/7 spey line really throw? I eventually want to use a tip system on this setup too. I'm a little concerned now.

Thoughts or insights on what I'm doing wrong would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Preston
Toronto

·
Registered
239 Posts
Preston:

No matter how well designed a fly line is, the leader is a critical component to actually getting the fly to turn over. Just as a level fly line will not turn over well, a leader must be tapered as well.

With any length leader (realistically leaders over 5 feet long), the following formula is a good place to start:

Butt: 60% of length
Taper: 20% of length
Tippet: 20% of length

For a 6/7 setup, a simple 12 foot leader formula might be the following:
7 feet of 0.025-0.028" mono (typically 30-40 lb test- diameter is more important here), 18" of 0.022-0.023", 18" of 0.018-0.020", 18-24" of tippet (e.g. 1X-2X: 0.010 or 0.009"). Contrary to popular belief, a stiffer butt or leader material won't necessarily help turn over a bigger bug, the diameter of the leader sections and taper is more important.