Spey Pages banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Redington Dually 8116 Rod, Echo TR 4120 Rod, Redington Grande 7/8/9 Reel, Lamson ARX 3.5 Reel
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been looking at these Guideline 3D+ and ULS 3D+ heads and wondered if anyone has first hand experience with these for their Scandi heads? What other benefits are having a triple density head instead of a floating head with tips ? I realize that these can be fished without a polyleader so it brings the fly closer to your rod tip which supposedly leads to better control and feeling of what is going on at the business end of the line. The triple density is also supposed to allow for slower swings and a straight line connection to the fly, but in the real world how much of this is experienced by the angler? Just wanted some first hand knowledge before I pull the trigger on one to try out. TIA

·
Premium Member
447 Posts
I have been using the Guideline 3D for 3 years and the 4D during this past spring salmon fishing. The manufacturer has a lot of information through pro-guides that will explain the "angle" and "level" of the fly in relation to the running line, and how the fish like this better. I'm not sure on all that, but I can say with confidence that I am a better caster with these systems. The fly swing does seem truer (like closer to a traditional floating system". It's a breeze to pick up and get the entire shooting head to the top water before the cast. I've watched some of the videos with Frodin and his pal Norling, and their casting styles have helped lot, especially when boat fishing.
Hope this helps.

·
Registered
2,140 Posts
Similar to Halifaxangler, I have been using the Guideline PowerTaper 3D for many years and they cast and fish well. I am particular fond of the FHI. The faster sink lines join me for winter.

When experimenting with a couple of 13' rods, I prefer these Guideline 3D lines over a traditional tip line like a NextCast Winter for throwing spey flies.