Spey Pages banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to be adding a new fly rod to my arsenal and since I only have one 2 hander in my arsenal (Winston Boron IIX 11' 7 Weight) which is a very short 2 hander I use for small rivers here in Michigan. I was wondering if anyone had any input on the Scott LS2 1408, Sage Euro 7141, and the Sage VT2 8139. This rod is basically just for swinging streamers with sink tips on Michigan's larger rivers for Steelhead. If anyone has any other recommendations other than the rods I have listed please let me know about them. Also what two handed rods would you recommend for a floating line and indicator rig on Michigan's larger rivers? I would think I would want this to be a softer action than my rod for sink tips. I am a novice to 2 handers so please let me know any input you may have on the situation. Thank You in advance...

·
Junkyard Spey
7,114 Posts
All the rods you mention are great sticks although in my opinion they are quite a bit different. I believe the Sage Euro is the fastest and the LS2 the slowest (more tradional in action) of the three. My choice would be the VT 2 8139, and second would be the Scott.
I think any rod you are comfortable with fishing tips will work well with a properly matched floating line with all else being equal. I think that VT 2 would still be a good choice.
I sell all of the above so you might think I'm biased but I sell several others also. There are a many great rods out there. With the right line match they can all be winners.
I would figure out what you can afford and your preferred action if you know what it is and visit some shops for some test drives on the water.
In my opinion that is the very best way to find out "what will work for you".

·
Banned
974 Posts
I had the Winston BIIx 11' 7 wt and it is the only Winston that I have sold. :razz: I do, however, love the 13'3" 7/8 and 13' 8/9.