Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Dom
3,051 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Been out of the game lately but this year me and my bud decided to fish Dechutes. We would like to hike and camp by the river. Personally I want to give a surface fly a shot. Is it that A or B rins are more keyed on surface? Any input on best timing and maybe a specific area that we should give a shot that you dont mind sharing? Burkie 7127 or 7134?

·
Registered
324 Posts
Awesome trip...

When are you planning to go? Either rod will be fine, I’d lean toward the 7134 personally. I’d focus on surface presentations early and late in the day, probably fish tips when the sun is high. Just my opinion, I’m no expert, but have spent some time on the Deschutes

·
Registered
728 Posts
Either will be fine. Personally, my go to rod for the Deschutes is a 13 ft 6 weight. Usually, my 7 weight is outfitted with a Skagit and tips for mid-day. Only time I have been outgunned on the river was when I hooked a fall Chinook on a size 7 steelhead fly. Finally pointed the rod at the fish and broke it off.

Mark

·
Registered
172 Posts
A couple of pointers....
Make sure you bring a good wading staff and good boots. The bottom is treacherous in a lot of places.
Bring earplugs if you want to have any chance of sleeping at night with the train traffic 😜

·
Registered
163 Posts
I like the train.
Maybe it's because I grew up with a train track not far from my house and the rhythmic sound used to put me to sleep so there is some nostalgia there.

The train is part of the charm I think though if I could magically make the lower 20 train free I would.

I was camped at Mack's a few years ago waiting to launch the next morning when the Eagle Creek fire in the gorge was terrible.