Spey Pages banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never really written down a my thoughts on a particular rod, so forgive me if some of what I put down is less technical than what others are capable of; and I'm no expert, just a fisherman. As the title says, I recently acquired a 7130 Asquith, a rod that I have heard very little about, but was excited to get none the less. So, I wanted to share some of my thoughts and put some information out there about this rod. At this point, I have owned the rod for about a month, and have had some time to fish a handful of lines and situations with it. It is an incredibly capable rod, from the feel, to its very accessible power. My understanding of what helps this rod to be so great is Spiral X, which is a manufacturing process of wrapping the graphite in a spiral; increasing strength and reducing weight. In addition to the manufacturing technique, the components are seemingly top notch and durable; its got titanium guides and premium cork. All this together gives a nice looking rod, but to be honest; it's nothing compared to a hand built/custom rod you would get from C.F Burkheimer, Meiser, or other comparable rod builders. It is without a doubt the lightest 7 wt. two handed rod that I have ever picked up or casted, and you do notice it. I would categorize this rod to be medium fast, with a progressive flex pattern to it. Which is starting to feel unique in todays era. I would put the meat or the power of the rod to be about 2/3 of the way down from the tip and slightly above the butt of the rod, and it's not hard to get it to flex to there. The tip recovery is amazingly fast on this rod, which does translate to very tight loops. The scandi lines that I have found to prefer on it are AF Scandi Long and a AF Rage, both in 480. For skagit, I really like the 510 Skagit Driver and a 480 FIST. For the grain window, I have found this rod to not be too picky, unlike some other rods out there. I hav