Spey Pages banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
kind of a silly question. but im kind of new to speycasting and flyfishing as i have not caught a steelhead on a spey rod yet. i was wondering if anyone has any recommendations on flies to try for summer steelhead and also maybe a few salmon flies that have worked them. not asking for any secret patterns just a little info to put me in the right direction. thanks scott

·
Registered
147 Posts
Summer Steelhead

Muddler
Purple peril
Skunk
Brads Brat

Thats all you need. Any more would just confuse the issue. Get a few of each fly in a small meduim and large size I'd suggest 8,4 and 1/0
Over time you'll try new patterns and develop your own preferences. best to keep it simple in the beginning..
I know a guy on the Umpqua who fishes only muddlers and catches as many fish as anyone else.Evidence that you don't need a large arsenal of flies...

Someone else will have to answer your question about salmon..

·
Registered
2,736 Posts
Only fly I would add to Rob's list would be some sort of leach - probably a rabbit strip leach (easier to tie than a marabou) in black or purple. On the river I fish most for summer steelhead - the Klamath - it would be a copper bead head moss back in size 6 hands down but that is a local pattern though it also works well on the Rogue.

For salmon, commets work great down in tide water in Southern Oregon/Northern California - orange/ orange and black/chartreuse/charteurse and balck with silver bodies.

·
Relapsed Speyaholic
5,533 Posts
"It is good to remember that more steelhead will be caught on a hunk of yarn than on the fanciest fly ever tied." -- RHB

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
With sinktips comment in mind ...