Spey Pages banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, let me say I am not affiliated with anyone. I'm a novice speycaster. Aaron (speybum) got me hooked last winter. I didn't catch any fish but I had a lot of fun trying.

Last week I purchased a CND Custom 1307 and I had a chance to try it and Rio WC 6/7/8 w/tips on the skagit on Saturday. I caught several pinks and just had a blast. I was able to cast the sink tips 3, 6, 8 much more successfully than the floating tip.

I've read that some recommend the long delta, or the Rio midspey (6/7) for a floating line with this rod. Has anyone here had experience with floating line options with this rod? What do they recommend?

I just have to say. I love the CND 1307.

Thanks,

dave

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Talk to Speybum

Dave

Aaron should be able to get you the right lines to try. I have the 1308 and like the RIO 7/8 midspey.

At the last Sandy Clave the 1307 was very popular and doing well with lines up to the XLT 7/8. That was too heave for the rod to handle the entire head, but it was doing well to about 80 feet.

Talk to Aaron and give some lines a try. Better yet bring it to the Carnation mini clave Sept 20 and try the lines on the rod to see what works best for you.

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
I have e-mailed Nobuo to ask him what lines have been successfully used in Japan as the rods have been in circulation for a few years there. I will post his answer - or maybe Cherry Pick will just chime in here directly.

As I said earlier I have not really spent time with these rods actually speycasting. I did spend 10 days using them as overhead rods while chironomid fishing a favourite Cariboo lake. What a blast fighting trout on the rods, these were stillwater trout and I can only imagine what river fish would do.