Spey Pages banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm fairly new to the fly fishing world. Live in the lower mainland in BC and have been fishing a double handed rod for about 7 months now.. I first commissioned this fly from my brother and have since tied a couple variations of it, this is the first version I tied on my own! I found it worked extremely well for summer runs in August once they had seen a bunch of different offerings!

If you have any tips or anything it would be much appreciated!

Attachments

·
flailing less
490 Posts
The proportions are good, the color choices work too. Right amount of "twinkle". Mounted on a whiskey cork--what's not to like? For a beginning effort, very nice. It will fish just fine.

Just for comparison's sake, tie another with two changes: shorter-fibered body palmering hackle, and mallard flank collar tied so that the fibers sweep to the rear. See if you like the way one or the other looks and swims better.

·
Banned
1,711 Posts
here's a long list

1. shorten your head.
2. even your tinsel spacing.
3. pretend anyone even slightly important gives a ****.

cheers,
tie a set of six before you ask another (see: answer your own) question,

shawn

ps. that's really good for a first, mate. really good.

·
Registered
1,921 Posts
Your fly looks great. The guys above have given you sound advice. The visual components of a fly, it's balance and structure, only come with experience. Tying multiples (in a row) of a specific fly, will give you the opportunity to self evaluate and see the progress. I do it still, it's very helpful.

Keep tying, keep posting.

Scott.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Since this is the beginning of the journey, set it aside as a memento. You'll be amazed how you progress over time. YouTube has a bunch of good tying vids....caddis fly shop, redshed, OPST (on Vimeo).

·
Undertaker
1,356 Posts
Thanks for the tip