Spey Pages banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After many attempts I felt this wing was passable, as a self taught novice I try to glean tips from this site and use the awesome ties by forum members as references for proportions etc. Any tips appreciated, thanks for looking

·
Registered
506 Posts
Pretty good, better than my first attempt.

Put the wings on one at a time for dees, and reverse the thread for the opposite wing. A bit of spit on the butt ends (only!!!) shrinks them enough that they will be as easy to tie in as jungle cock or feather tips.

Theres a couple more methods of course find one your good at!

·
Registered
241 Posts
fly

That's really started to come along. One of my favourite patterns. Good job M.

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
Good job for your first attempt! Your wing mount looks excellent! I have struggled with mounting the wings going back and forth between mounting them one and a time with reversing the thread and the other method of preparing the wings separate from the fly (compression method) and putting them on as a single unit.
I've had success with both methods. Still deciding which I like better :Eyecrazy:

·
Banned
690 Posts
Dude...an Akroyd at that...phew
I've made a huge mess of that one early on...nicely done (I know how far you've come man).

:smokin:

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks all, Swiftcurrent's old Echo helped begin the two-handed journey and he was kind enough to give me some pointers at a local stretch and Mr. Chase's tips and flies set a standard to aim for. Lang may yer lum reek, which loosely translates to- may you always have a fire in your hearth

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
There is a lot right with the way you tied this fly. The wing length is good, tail length is good, fairly sparse dubbing, jungle cock is oriented well as it runs in a straight line from head to hook point, and nicely sized hackle on rear body section.