Spey Pages banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone explain to me (or point me to the answer area) about the difference in "traditional" vs. "european" as far as rods go? Are there other styles as well? I'm new to the idea of spey casting, and was told by someone with some experience, to go with a 14' 9/10 weight as a good entry level rod...but they didn't mention European or traditional...well, that isn't exactly right. They did say that most Americans find the European style to be too (and this is where I don't recall exactly how they put it, but it planted the idea in my mind that they felt they required more brute strength, but also were better for longer casts). I'm not sure whether this is a reflection of a fast action, medium action, or slow action...nor do I exactly understand how these type of actions differ. Sooooooo.....can someone either give me a spey basics 101, or point me to the right location for this type of post. SOrry in advance if I'm posting in the wrong area.

·
Jack Cook
1,668 Posts
Clearwater

Come to the Clearwater clave in a month and we will show you the difference.

Traditional often means slower rods with through action, that is they bend all the way to the grip. Although they are slow they still throw a mile of line if you want them to with the proper line.

European often means very fast recovery. This also used to mean very stiff which is sort of the 'brute force' you refer to. Modern 'super fast' rods are not all stiff. Many have delightful actions and super fast recovery to boot.

In both categories there are lots of poorly designed rods.

The best way to understand the diff is to spend some time with someone who can help you cast them.

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
RobJ