Spey Pages banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...Scnadinavian style and shootingheads? A little inside info, i know thaht Steve Choate is a little in to shootingheads now! :smokin: ;)

·
Registered
439 Posts
Hi Jacob, Picked up a GLX Stinger and am going to teach my self how to cast it underhand style.
Leroy.....................

·
#&%*@^# Caster
3,058 Posts
I honestly do not like the short scando heads for anything other than short winter work. Too much stripping, which I find maddening in the summer.

That is not to say I am not a proponent of the underhand style. I have changed my stroke over to be bottom hand dominant on my right side , taking some practice to get it going on my left side but it is coming.

It is more the modern speycasting style that the Syrstads and Dana are doing. You do not need short lines to underhand. Works quite well with the long carrons or xlts.

-sean

·
Registered
202 Posts
I've just ordered a RIO Scandanavian shooting head to fish for bass in ponds, lakes and slow moving rivers. I want to strip line. Using a medium or long belly line is frustrating because I can't strip line. The longer belly lines want to be fished at a certain length and stay there. I need to cast out and strip in line.

I'm experimenting with 2 handed rods for fishing situations beyond the standard swing a fly for steelhead and salmon.

·
Member FRSCA
2,264 Posts
I just got my Sage 8124 back from the guy I traded it to just over a year ago. I also ordered an 8/9 Rio Scand head, been tying tubes flys like a mad man. Also an eager student of the underhand casting technique, I nail about 1/3 casts, and enjoy learning. I might dye my hair blonde and get blue contacts next ;).

Not serious on the last part, don't mean any harm by it either :)

·
Member FRSCA
2,264 Posts