Spey Pages banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
538 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
#1) For use with a 6wt Beulah Platinum switch rod. The only Scandi line I have tried on this rod is the Rio #6 Scandi short which I like. Can anyone comment on the differences between these two?

#2) I am also wanting to try a Scandi on my 7126-4 Method. Any suggestions here on brand and grain wt?

#3) What change has Beulah made to the V2 Elixer?

Skagit caster looking for better presentation.

·
Registered
298 Posts
I had a V1 on my 6wt switch and a V2 on my 5wt spey. I definitely preferred the V2. I think they changed the taper a bit as the V2 felt like there was more grainage in the reel-end of the line where the V1 felt like it was more evenly distributed. Both lines were the shorter switch version of the Elixir and both rods mentioned are Platinums for extra info. I am no scandi expert, also more of a skagit guy, but this is what I remember from my experience with the V1 and V2. Hope this helps a little bit.

·
Banned
2,153 Posts
I just picked up the new Elixer and I'm taking it out tomorrow, shooting head

I must admit that airflo scandi have never disappointed me. But I'm hoping this will be a nice experience

·
Registered
538 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks

I appreciate the input.

I did not realize there was a change in the taper on the Elixir V2.

The Airflow Scandi on my 4/5 Classic Beulah is a keeper as well. The 6wt Platinum/Rio Scandi is my favorite for the distance I can cast with a light weight setup... Effortless! Line control is a dream compared to a Skagit. People that are using the Elixir seem to rave about them. I'd like to try an Elixir on my Method 7wt. But what grain wt?

My hope is to buy an 8wt Onyx and I would be tempted to do a Scandi on that as well. It will be primarily a Skagit rod but a Scandi might be nice with lighter stuff. My Skagit casting has improved since I've been tossing the Scandi"s

·
Registered
407 Posts