Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I often read how swinging flies is one of the least effective ways of catching steelhead. It seems most would agree that fishing gear or even beads/eggs under an indicator is much more effective and that guys who swing flies are giving up numbers of fish in order to feel that tight line grab with a fly rod. I am relatively new to steelhead fishing (2 seasons) and my only experience has been swinging flies with a two handed rod. That said, I have watched gear guys and nymph fisherman fish around me and I seem to have as much or more success than most of them. I do focus on fishing rivers that are known to have good swing water and most of my fishing has been for summer steelhead (I'm sure that makes a difference). The "start short and slowly work out line until your at a good distance, then step and repeat through a run" seems to me to be a good way to ensure you are covering all the water. I'm not doubting what I've heard about the effectiveness of other methods over swinging flies (you hear it enough it must be true), but is swinging flies really as ineffective as we're led to believe?

Jake

·
Registered
66 Posts
The odds between swinging flies and other methods are somewhat evened out in the summer as steelhead are more aggressive and higher in the water column. In cold water however, when steelhead nestle down low in slots and around structure, it is easier to dead drift a nymph or egg pattern right in front of them. For myself, and many other fly swingers I presume, it's more about mastering the casts and presentation than sheer numbers of fish or the aggressiveness of the grab.

I'm sure you'll get more eloquent and informative responses that I'm looking forward to reading as well.

·
Registered
52 Posts