Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to spey casting and making decision what rod to buy. I will use primary scandi and skagit heads, for small and medium flies in big river.
I need very light rod, so my choice came down to Winston B3 TH and Echo3 rods. Is it worth to spend more money on Winston? Or maybe buy old model Winston B2 6/7 rod which is just little more expensive than Echo3?

Thanks,

Stibra

·
Premium Member
3,755 Posts
Echo "classic"

I started learning this fall on an echo classic 7 wt 12' 9" spey rod. A bit cheaper, beautiful looking and works great, at least from a beginner. I have had no regrets - but instead of keeping the money I saved I used it to buy more echo rods.

These go down to to a 6 wt 12' 6':

http://www.echoflyfishing.com/html/rod_category_details.php?category_id=27&page_id=59

I have seen a bunch of (apparently) experienced people posting that these are indistinguishable from rods that cost 3 times as much. It all depend if you like the action which probably is hard for a beginner to say. But these are definitely not fast action - good to learn on. Seems good with a scandi head, and the compact skagit (for skagit casts that is) with a 15' tip is working awesome for me on these. YMMV.

·
Registered
230 Posts
Echo hands down!

Winston are just to fragile and they are the most expensive to send back for repairs as long as they didn't drop the ball and take 4-5months to rod get back.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Echo hands down!

Winston are just to fragile and they are the most expensive to send back for repairs as long as they didn't drop the ball and take 4-5months to rod get back.
I started with Echo's and ended up with Winston's. My B3x 7133 and 8136 have been used hard and have proven to be very tough. However, I did have to send my 11' B2x back to Winston twice. Lesson there was don't whack that one with a weighted fly!!