Spey Pages banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am contemplating trying a 10 wt. DT. on my 8 wt. 14' rod as I am contemplating this for winter fish. I would like to use a sinking poly tip is this reasonable or is this set up suited for a tapered mono leader only? The long belly lines are totally new to me any insights and input from practitioners would be greatly appreciated.

·
Stuck on DT
44 Posts
Hi there. I've never used a sinking poly tip. I don't use sink tips at all actually, but I have a lot of experience with long DT lines.
I'm not sure the DT has the momentum required to turn a heavy tip all that comfortably. I expect it can be done, but another taper - similar to a WF might be better.
I'm generally a long leader fan with my DT. That coupled with acute line management and mending gets a sparsely dressed fly down. It may not get it right down in the rocks, but it should go deep enough for a satisfactory presentation with reasonable chances of success. However, with winter fish and really cold water, this may not be an ideal way of doing it.
For me, the DT and a long, tapered leader, provides maximum pleasure in casting with the two hander. When everything's working right, a person can get some pretty long casts with the ol' DT.
I don't know if this constitutes an answer to your question. I was just excited to see someone enquiring about DT lines. You might like the taper...you may never go back:)
Regards, GK
PS: Read LCH's posts on attaining depth with minimal gadgets.

·
Hooked4life
2,085 Posts
A DT-10-F will handle 10' polyleaders just fine. Don't try 15' sinktips on it though as that would be a struggle.

·
Registered
91 Posts