Spey Pages banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
588 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new at this game. I will be using a 12'6" 6 weight rod. Most of the water I fish is less than 5 feet deep. I want to cast for distance to cover more water. I want to use streamer flies for trout and steelhead. I will have to use some type of sink tip for the streamers. What line is easier to cast and will get done what I need? Thanks

·
Registered
205 Posts
Hi smsnyder, I am also new, but will give it a shot. Both line types are shooting heads, that is eelatively short spey lines that can be used with interchangeable tips or polyleaders (floating or sinking of various rates). Skagits are short fat and heavy heads that shoot far and are easy to use with fast sinking tips and heavy flies, while Scandi heads also shoot good distance while being a bit longrr with more gradual taper which produces a more delicate delivery of slower sink tips and lighter flies. I've heard skagit is easier to learn(not sure if its true), but more importantly is the type of fly and sink tip you intend to use. A bit more info on your intentions would be usefull.
what rate sink tips do you intend to use? What size flies? Weighted flies? That will all be determining in best tool for the job.

Hope this helps and that more experienced posters will correct me if I'm wrong about anything!

·
Registered
1,937 Posts
There is always a compromise! Things which incease casting distance are heavier line head, longer line head and touch&go casting!

You don't need to use a sinking line or sink tip to sink streamers which are slim and have some weight in the head and/or strong and short hook when you use long mono and thin leader which water resistance is low so fly sinks fast head first. This kind of fly also pulls leader straight in the end of the cast when fly has some speed when the line loop advances to the leader junction.