Spey Pages banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
That Guy in PEI.....
1,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone.
I am new to the board and the spey-world as well. I am wondering about the DiamondBack 126910? The price is right!
Opinions....good or bad, are sought.
I have a J.W.Young 1535, a Young Beaudex 4" and a Young Pridex 4". Are these suitable as to balance? Too heavy, or too light?
Lastly, spigot ferrules? I am used to the tip female over butt style and these look a little odd?weak? Am i paranoid or are there any problems with them that a new-to-spey-guy should know about?
Thanks guys, great site and loads of info. Iam in!!!
Regards
Dwayne Miller
aka Salmon Chaser
><)))*>

Attachments

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
I have no experience with that rod but can comment on spigot ferrules. They have great flex characteristics, and flex is important to spey casting. As far as durability, I've handled hundreds of spigot rods never seen a spigot break, well except for a corner taken off when a 12wt line was overhand cast on an un-taped ferrule that had come loose at the trade show. The corner came off, but it's still that way and has not only been cast a lot since then but has landed some large fish. I still fish it. I don't think you have to worry about durability.

Also, there are many spey casting rod options available in very affordable price ranges on the market today. An old nor'eastern saying.... don't be "penny smart and pound foolish". Cast a few rods and make sure you have something that will deliver on what spey casting has to offer.

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
There are quite a few very nice rods that are priced between $250.00 and $400.00 US that you should take a look at before you make a purchase of a 2-hander. The CND Expert and Custom Series rods, Temple Fork, St Croix, Lamiglas, Heritage, and Loop Black and Yeloow Series rods should all be looked at and considered before your purchase.