Spey Pages banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I recently purchased a Winston DBF 8/9 (15'). I'm fairly new to spey casting and I was told to purchase the Rio windcutter(8/9/10). I have been very frustrated with my casting. I've been using my friend's scott with a midspey and casting has been going much better. I know my rod is capable of a lot, so I'm not going to give up on it (its probably me). I'm curious if any one has any suggestions for ways to improve this setup (please don't write "buy a sage", because I do not have prodeal with sage. If things don't improve I'm going to sell this rod, I'm not fishing effectively, and that's what I like to do...I use heavy sink tips in the winter, and I'm wondering how an accelerator would behave with this rod and a heavy tip. Thanks for any help. Dan

·
Indicators Anonymous
846 Posts
I have always found that the Derek Brown Favorites have never really cared for the Windcutter (the shorter head doesnt let this rod shine).

Plus, if you are going to fish a Windcutter on the rod, you need to severly overline the rod.

I own the 7/8 and the 8/9/10 does not come close to loading it, however the 9/10/11 does a much better job.

Your 8/9/10 Windcutter is WAY WAY WAY too light for the 8/9 DBF.

My lines of choice on these rods are Midspeys, Long Deltas and my favorite, the Accelerator.

The 7/8 DBF loves the 8/9 MidSpey while the 8/9 DBF loves the 9/10 MidSpey or the 9/10 Accelerator.

·
Mr. Mom
625 Posts
I've had the Derek Brown 8/9 for a month and a half or so, and it is an amazing rod in many ways. It took me a good three weeks to pick the line I wanted to use on it. Luckily I live near the River Run spey shop in Carnation so I was able to try the lines I liked over and over. I finally settled on the Grandspey 7/8. The Grandspey 8/9 worked on it too, but the 7/8 is the better choice for the long run if you want a line with a belly in the 80 to 100ft range.