Spey Pages banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I we just borrowed a RIO windcutter spey with tips, but how do I connect the leaders to the Clear int. tip?

I’m new to spey casting but have a lot of experience with the underhand cast, will it be the same style, just with a longer belly?

What type of leaders do you guys use? Normally we use the poly tips/leaders with the short shooting heads will they work? Or will normal monofil salmon leaders do the job better?

Best regards Torben

·
Mr. Mom
625 Posts
I normally mount braided mono loops on all my line tips. But another nice option is whipping a loop (see Dana's article in the newsletter section called connections), or what I do in emergency situations use an albright knot to a 30 or 40 pound mono leader butt (depending on line weight), just like you would attach backing to fly line. Just don't trust nail knots to clear intermediate lines, even though they have come a long way in the last 5 years.

·
Registered
465 Posts
An albright knot works well for this application.

Another option, unless the tip's mono core is too thin, is to strip some of the tip's coating and connect your butt section using a blood knot.

·
Jack Cook
1,668 Posts
Imho

For my 10 cents...
I used to use sink tips.
Now I just use poly leaders.

I would make a small loop at the end of the line using your preferred method.
Then use an intermediate or higher density polyleader.

If you want to get deeper and stay deeper then go to an intermediate or full sinking head instead of a floater. On this setup you will still use the sinking polys on the tip.

·
Registered
60 Posts
spey or underhand

Hi Torben,