Spey Pages banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, greetings from Wyoming-
I'm new to this whole speycasting technique, but excited to try- I'm interested in getting a rod for lake fishing for trout, but hav'nt a clue about anything yet- Have a chance to pick up a 12'6" 6wt rod -I fish all 6wts, but don't know if it applys to speycasting for this application... Wondered if anyone could tell me if this would apply to what I'm looking for- Many of the lakes are high banked so I think this could be good- The wind blows here a bit , too
Thanks alot for any help-
Uflyfish2

·
EAT IT!!!
338 Posts
Everybody and their brother has a different take on this, so here is mine, and while it is not necessarily the one to listen to, I have a few reasons for my opinions. Oh, FYI I am fishing western streams and lakes for trout about 100 days a year so I am familier with the conditions and places you might be fishing. Hopefully I can be a help.

A 6 wt spey rod will not cast a standard 6 wt line. Most Spey rods are designed to load with 60-70 feet of line out, so the standard short head of a 6 wt WF will not be enough grains to cast most 6 wt spey rods and the switch side of that is that a 6 wt spey line will be much to heavy for a 6 wt singlehanded rod. So if you do purchase this rod, you will need to invest in a line and probably a larger reel, not only to house the fat spey line, but to balance the longer and heavier rod.

Now this is just my opinion, so don't hold it in stone and you are welcome to disagree, but a spey rod is not an ideal tool for fishing trout in lake for many reasons. I will try to list them.
1. The spey line, being much heavier than a standard WF is not nearly as delicate in a given size and this can spook fish. Also, spey casts tend to disturb the water around the angler much more than single handed rods.