Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
949 Posts
One of Canada’s most iconic rainforests is under threat as signs of logging have been discovered in the heart of the Upper Walbran Valley on Vancouver Island.Http://www.vancouverobserver.com/news/canada-s-grandest-old-growth-rainforest-risk-logging-survey-tape-discovered
Go ahead C. Clark and rip and ship BC to China, then smile and lie........lie and smile etc.
I have some experience in the Carmanah/Walbran area. As per the article: Of the 13,000 ha total area of the Walbran, 5500ha is already designated park, and unavailable for logging. ( tho clearly not enough for the Ancient Forest Alliance, which, it would seem, wants the whole drainage deemed unnavailable) The article mentions that the area is popular with recreationalists. I am unaware of any parties, other than forest companies, who have built roads making it possible for recreationalists, or anyone else, to come anywhere near these areas, in order to enjoy them. During my forestry career I became accutely aware of the need for a balanced system of managing the forest resource. Although I often viewed from the opposite side, I came to realize that "environmental interest groups" have played and do play a very important part in providing a public conscience to ensure that balance is not overlooked. Yes, old growth forests are amazing, but it's not a simple all or nothing decision. . Somehow/somewhere, some wheels need to be able to turn in order to support our economy, while at the same time maintaining a balance to support multiple interests. All or nothing views don't work for anyone and opinions to the contrary are not all lies. It's not as simple as it may seem from the outside.

·
Banned
1,946 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
All over BC logging has increased significantly over the last 10 years. How about exporting value added products like cabinets etc, rather then rip and ship of raw products approached. Much better jobs and economy, NO ??

·