Spey Pages banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I have some basic questions as I'm a newbie on buying and selling gear.

I have seen some items recently that I'm interested in purchasing. Can someone tell me the standard procedures in making a payment? I don't have a pay pal account. do I need a pay pal account in order to purchase? Can I simply pay via check?

Same thing if I have something to sell? Can I ask to be paid by check or is pay pal required?

Any 101 tips on setting up pay pal....making a payment, accepting a payment, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

THANK YOU!

·
Registered
74 Posts
re: payment

Not a pro but was advised to set up a separate bank account with a workable balance in it as you need to be able to deposit to and withdraw funds from the account without compromising your main accounts.
There are members who swear by Paypal, and others who have not had good experiences. Hopefully some of each will respond. Cheques may expose you to a "Nigeria scam" contact. That said, Members here are legit, it's the in/out rip-offs.
Good luck!

·
Banned
894 Posts
First off welcome to the classifieds! Setting up a paypal account is easy, just go to the site and sign up. You will need to register a credit card with then, so as long as you are OK with that. As far as cheques go, most people will hold the parcel till the cheque clears. 99% of the people here are so honest and I've never had any issue but there is always someone out to capitalize on someone else's generosity. The key is to communicate with the seller, check out their post count and when they joined. Search their previous sales and the rest is up to good people. In the US, postal money orders are a lot cheaper than a bank draft in Canada and I see a lot of guys using them. Don't be afraid to ask for pics and enjoy the rewards of a discounted item. Most people on here are crazy when it comes to maintaining their gear, me included. Cheers