Spey Pages banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Spey in the South?!
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys-

It's been about two years since I first picked up my CND Expert 6/7 trout spey. I have landed some nice fish on it down here in the south, including a three pound rainbow in very heavy flows (quite a fight - keep in mind we don't have steelhead down here, so 3# ain't shabby).

I'm now interested in another trout spey. I've been holding out for a couple years in the hopes that one of the manufacturers would create a true #5 in 12' or longer, with *trout hardware.* Clearly there isn't a market for that at the moment. I'm not particularly interested in going the custom route.

So what I'd like to know is, what's on the market right now, and what do those rods look like?

I know the Sage 12' 5wt is a primary candidate, and I like the look of the rod, though I haven't been able to swing one (local shop has one but how to get it to the water?) I'm a big fan of Scott Rods and am doing what I can to support them currently. I see in my catalog that Scott is offering the LS 5 weight. How does this rod differ from the LS2? Does it come with a tapered grip (I greatly prefer the wells on the front)?

Are Winston or T&T offering trout speys currently?

One of the biggest complaints I have about the spey market is that manufacturers seem to think it's just fine to list the length and weight of the rod without any pictures to accompany the various models. This is especially true of trout speys, which may look much different than their big brothers but which are given no catalog ink whatsoever.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Zach

·
Here we go again!
620 Posts
Trout speys