Spey Pages banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting started in spey casting. I want to build a spey rod, but I am not sure what the best action for distance is. I want to use clousers and need to know what length/action/weight would be best for this. I also need to know what lines would be best for casting heavy flies. I live on the Rainy River on the Minnesota Canada border. I started catching big walleye from shore with a 9' 5wt. and clouser minnows. I have not found any other flies that work better so far. The banks of the Rainy are high and the river is very wide. I think spey casting is the answer to getting farther out into the river short of getting the boat out. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
646 Posts
If you're set on building on your own I highly recommend you give Bob Meiser a call to discuss your needs. Bob will be able to recommend a blank and line system to fit your application. He's a wealth of knowledge and designs incredible blanks.

·
Hopeless Romantic...
1,950 Posts
Dan, move this topic over to the "spey basics" forum, you'll get a lot of help there-
You might also post this in the "Rods" forum-

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I talked to Bob Meiser today. He is a really helpful nice guy. I appreciate the time he gave me on the phone. Awsome.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I finished the 15' Meiser. Here is the fore grip. It is made of Leopard wood, African blackwood, Bloodwood and Maple. The cork was the best cork I havbe ever seen. I got it from Angler's Workshop.

·
Degenerate caster
1,180 Posts
Rainey river Huh.I was born(hatched/extruded) in Baudette(walleye Capital of the World)-fished the Rainey often for Walleye,Sturgeon, and suckers as a kid.
It's warms my heart to hear of a double hander in the Home Land.
A 14-15 foot 8 -10 weight would be perfect.