Spey Pages banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone I am new to this sit and will be new to Spey fishing. I am interested in getting a versatile entry level two handed or "Spey"
rod for beginners. Ideally I would like to fish for steel head and trout on large rivers. If I were able to get away with using same rod occasionally in the salt it would be nice. I already have an eight weight LA reel so I am siding toward an 8wt. I know nothing about Spey or Two handed fishing but have always wanted to learn. I have been fly fishing for just over a decade and hope that might help a little.

I think it is finally time but would like to ease into it without a huge investment at this point. I have looked at the TFO rods and they seem linke the way to go until I noticed the Winston makes an entry level spey rod $350. Do you think the Winston is worth the extra $$$ or would I merely be paying for a name? I don’t think I would be able to notice a difference between one or another since I have never cast a two handed rod. This will make me value your responses that much more I hope some of you may be of assistance.

MW

·
Registered
545 Posts
Hello MW,

The Winston would be a great rod to start with for spey casting. You mentioned some fishing in salt (I assume stripers) you might consider the Scott A2 series. Either the 1308 (13' 8wt) or 1409. Both will spey cast yet have the ability to overhead cast very well on a windy beach or rocky point. I believe the A2 rods are $350. If you are fishing salt a lot then I give the nod to the 1308 which is really a 9 wt. If you are doing an even amount of salt and spey i would go with the 1409. If you are mostly all spey then the Winston will be great.

Also, a 8/9 spey line takes up a lot more room then an 8 wt single hand line. Typically you need more like a 10 wt. reel to balance an 8 wt spey and hold the line.

Hope this helps.

Greg

·
chrome-magnon man
5,375 Posts