Spey Pages banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

This is my first post! I've been lurking for a few weeks and decided to join.

I'm looking for my first Spey reel. I am looking for a reel that will be capable of holding about 200 yards of 30# with the Rio WC 8/9/10 Versi-Tip Spey line.

I've been looking at the Bauer JM5 reel. I'm new to spey fishing and would like to save some cash now (using this reel for 2 years ... then as a back up) before sinking some serious cash into a Ross, Loop, or Hardy.

Do you guys have any opinions / reviews of this reel? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

Robin

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
Welcome!

I only own the M7 but I love it. Generally the Bauer reels have offered great quality at a fair price with an smooth drag system. I haven't played with the JM's but if they offer the same drag it should be OK with 200 or so yds of 30#, maybe a little less. Midlengths might give you a problem, long bellies definitley would be out of the running. But for the application it sounds like a good way to catch some fish!

·
chrome-magnon man
5,375 Posts
Hi Robin--welcome!

You mention Loop in your post.

You can get yourself a Loop that might fit your needs. The new Loop Evotec CLW will hold the line and backing you mention, and retails for @ $170 CDN.

I haven't fished the Bauers but a friend of mine uses them for steelhead and quite likes them.

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
Dana -

I am really looking forward to field testing the CLW. The LOOP Evotec 11/14 HD is absolutely my prized possession when it comes to spey reels. I am thinking with this innovation in lightweight and lower cost materials on similar mechanical basis (drag, etc) I can put LOOP technology on a lot of my rods!

·
Banned
103 Posts