Spey Pages banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Bamboo Warrior
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, Im looking for some bamboo blanks for an 11'ish switch rod. Also recommendations on spliced vs traditional ferrules would be a great help. Thanks guys

·
Bamboo Rod Maker
327 Posts
Switch rod blanks

I have been making bamboo switch rods for several years and have a lot of rods in service around the Great Lakes. I don't sell blanks so not much help here. Splices or ferrules is your choice. All of my rods have ferrules and I have not had any trouble with them. A given rod taper will perform a little better with ferrules than it will with splices. Ferrules are a lot more conveniant if you are doing a lot of moving from stream to stream.

Jerry

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
Boo Baby Boo!

In the shorter rods casting a 'Boo spey is a life experience; 'hang the cost,' just get one!
:smokin:

fae

·
Bamboo Warrior
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
ARE...is that Anglers Roost? I looked at the Warra blanks was unsure of the quality of them

·
R J Ruwe
260 Posts
I have two of their graphite blanks and was pleased with them. I haven't tried the bamboo but have heard they were pretty good.

Hey Fred, the temp. here has been in high teens and low twenties lately so I have been taking my hummingbird feeders in at dark. Put them back out at the crack of dawn and the birds are waiting for me. Today two of them landed and started feeding as I was trying to hang the feeder. Fun!!

·
Registered
997 Posts
A given rod taper will perform a little better with ferrules than it will with splices.

Jerry
That's quite a blanket statement...... However I think there are an awful lot of anglers that may disagree completely with it.

I would think that unless someone had actual, personal experience with all bamboo rods, from all makers, in all configurations that it would be very difficult, if not impossible to be able to draw such definitive conclusions and state them as fact on the internet?