Spey Pages banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first post on here so please excuse me if this has been covered before (I had a look through and couldn't find it). I am new to double-handers. I am buying a rod to fish various medium UK rivers. My regular rivers will be the Wye and the Usk in S Wales but I expect to do the odd trip up to the Tyne and maybe onto one of the bigger Scottish rivers occasionally. Having looked around, the Bruce and Walker Norways seem to be widely recommended rods and so I thought I might plump for one of those. My question is this. For an all round rod am I better off buying a 9/10 or a 10/11 15 footer, given that I am new to speycasting?

Hope you can help.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
150 Posts
If you are looking for a rod to use on all occasions on med-large sized rivers, then I would go with the 10/11.

It is slightly heavier than the 9/10k, but it is marginal! The 10/11 has that little extra oomph!! This will handle sinking lines and sink-tips with ease!!

Don't get me wrong the 9/10 is great fun with a floating line(or sink tip), but the 10/11 is just a great all round rod!!

With good tuition you should have no probs starting out with this rod :cool:

·
Registered
106 Posts
Good advise !

I`ll second that. I use the 15` 10/11 B&W as my favoured rod for these type of rivers, and it`s just a great all rounder. Not to say that there`s a huge difference between the two, but as fishingd0 says the extra oomph is great to have.
Best of luck with it, and enjoy.
Peter.

·
Registered
215 Posts
AJR, whereabouts on the Wye will you be fishing? Where I occasionally fish it (low down, below Monmouth) a 10/11 rod would be way too much.