Spey Pages banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some help. I have been trying to work out the basic physics of a Spey cast (and the overhead cast as well) to derive some basic functional mathematical models which will adequately and qualitatively---not quantitatively---explain a series of empirical observations. i am obviously too stupid to get anywhere, and have been reviewing the basics without much success. My background is limited to basic college level physics, but i think the majority of this stuff could be explained with a synthesis of basic newtonian physics and a smattering of wave mechanics.

If anyone is interested in helping me, I would love to hear from you! please send me a PM...

·
Registered
18 Posts
Well,

When I was officially a dork I played around with the idea of deriving the mechanics involved in a fly cast. This was during my senior year as a budding undergraduate physicist.

What I found is that brains bigger than my own beat me to the punch. Therefore, I did what any self respecting dude would do: defer to the experts.

Check out this link...

I hope that this helps you out.

-Mike

·
Hooked on Salmon
161 Posts
Bubba!

Please, please - don't try. You are about to commit a crime.....
It is like trying to define the process behind good art, fine sex or what makes a wine really stand out.

Spend that theoretical time fishing - send the the tight loops out whithout bothering what mathematical formulas are behind them.
Pleasure is not to be understood - just to be enjoyed!!!

Per

·
Registered
57 Posts
Dogue, I've always been uncomfortable with parts of the derivation that you noted. There is a part of the discussion where he talks of modeling the line as a series of rigid cylinders connected by frictionless hinges. Having experienced hinging at a braided loop connector I do not see how that is a reasonable way to model this system. But then I'm an engineer not a physicist.