Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those of you that have built rods off of these blanks can you post some pics and throw some specs on materials that you guys used? I have never built a rod before and after hearing how nice these rods are I am thinking of trying to build one or two. I just have absolutely no clue on what size thread, guides, reel seats or anything to use! Hopefully this can become a thread to help other new builders out and to showcase some nice homemade rods. Appreciate the help!

·
Registered
1,725 Posts
I built the 12' 2/3 IM6 version of this. I just bought the kit that Johnny has available. I sanded down the cork on it and it turned into honeycomb. Needless to say it's ultra cheap cork. However, the guide kit is just fine as is the reel seat.

I then had Steve Godshall build a custom head for it. I believe mine is a Scandi head 23' @ 210 grains.

Just go for it. It's a ton of fun and a fun little rod to fish. At the price you can't go wrong. Given it's your first rod you'll make a ton of mistakes but that's all part of the process.

Good luck with it.

·
Registered
555 Posts