Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
378 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My girlfriend has been wanting to get a dog for quite some time now. Considering the work involved I have managed to resist, perhaps up until now. It would seem that the dog of choice for her is a Husky. Since October and November are spent fishing everyday it would be important that such a pet would be comfortable in Steelhead Country.As I have no experience in the matter I thought I would enlist your help if anybody has experience with Huskies as fishing companions, especially in wet weather, on rivers, in rafts, around bears and anglers prone to afternoon streamside dozing.
Thanks,
Brian Niska

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
Had one as a Lad, Hal Eckert has two now.

Wonderful pooches.

fae

Too bad Hal's abandoned the Board. If you send me a e mail I'll shoot you his 'address.'

fae

·
Registered
316 Posts
Have owned both Huskies and Malamutes I found huskies to be high strung and were a bit to excitable to take fishing, on the other hand Malamutes were more sedate love people and make a great fishing companion. As for problems with bears an old guy I met on the Stamp river on the Island told me after an encounter with a bear that bears smell dogs and if possible stay clear of them, he always had his Lab with him when he went fishing and had never run into a bear. In his defense I have never run into a bear while travelling in the woods with a dog but have had many encounters while travelling and fishing without one.
Hope this helps in your decision.

Ian

·
Registered
169 Posts
Just one problem....

Their idea of "catch and release" is catch it now, eat it, and release it as a pile tomorrow! They LOVE fishing.....

PS - Hal's computer crashed, so he has to replace it. You can't get ahold of him on the internet right now. I hope it doesn't take him as long to buy a new computer as that Sage 5120 - he still hasn't bought the durned thing!!!

BobK

·
Registered
207 Posts
Huskies

Brian,