Spey Pages banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
200g OPST Commando w/ 9' 5wt
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ahoy!

Been lurkin' here for a while now and figured it's time to join :) I'm actually planning on building a rod this winter and hope to find some guidance here. I have zero rod building experience but I am a full time woodworker and have plenty of tools and material to whip up all the necessary jigs and what not. I'm starting to put together my list of hardware but I'm pretty set on the 11' 3/4wt Angler's Roost IM-6 blank. I look forward to turning the reel seat.

I've been messing with the OPST Commando 200g head on my 9' 5wt classic trout and it's fun for sure, but have not really given it enough time.

Soft hackles have always been a close second to dries for me. With streamers right behind. I will fish a nymph as a dropper but bobbers just aren't fun to me, nor is a euro rig. I do enjoy a tight line on a tenkara rod. Something about really being able to really lock in and feel the drift. Kinda reminds me of bein' in the pocket on a wave. I reserve that for tiny stream exploration.

I'm typically swingin' flatwings in the surf here in Brooklyn or stumbling around the Croton watershed about an hour north.

Any advice on whether I should build this rod or just ride with the spooled up OPST in my pocket? Regardless of advice I will probably build this rod cause it's cheap and I love building stuff, but I'd love your advice regardless.

Have a good weekend :)

·
18 foot spey rod DV8
187 Posts
Ahoy!

Been lurkin' here for a while now and figured it's time to join :) I'm actually planning on building a rod this winter and hope to find some guidance here. I have zero rod building experience but I am a full time woodworker and have plenty of tools and material to whip up all the necessary jigs and what not. I'm starting to put together my list of hardware but I'm pretty set on the 11' 3/4wt Angler's Roost IM-6 blank. I look forward to turning the reel seat.