Spey Pages banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys, I'm new to the spey casting and I just recently came back from the Cattaraugus using my Loomis GL3 14 8/9 wt. I did manage to get into a few steelies but man did my shoulder pay for it.

Can anyone recommend the lightest spey rod out there in a 13 to 14 ft length in a 7 or 8 wt.

Thanks

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
Give the CND Solstice 13'4" 6/7wt and 14'3" 7/8 IM8 4-pc Spey action rods a wiggle. They are so light you can high stick the belly of the line over the near current if desired without taxing the shoulder.

It's more than overall weight that can cause strain - another aspect is weight balance, another is flex profile. Two rods of equal weight can feel heavier in the hands depending on these factors. To emphasize this, imagine holding a rod by the tip and wiggling the handle.

Other things that cause strain are not related to rods at all - for instance wading at a depth that forces the arms to be bent to keep the rod out of the water. This causes a lot of unnecessary strain over the course of a run, a day or a week. Learning to use alternate casts that reduce backcasting requirements will allow an angler to wade shallower keeping the arms relaxed.

As far as ultra-lightweight Spey with steelhead power in a size that matches the Catt, the CND Solstice is definitely in the short list in my (albeit biased) opinion. But don't take my word for it, give them a test cast for yourself!

·
Registered
562 Posts