Spey Pages banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All of the sinking tips for my new Mid Spey 7/8 weigh the same, 109 grains.

Yet the type 3 sinks at 3 ips (w/o compensator), and the type 8 sinks at 8 ips (w/o compensator).

Does the smaller diameter of the type 8 enable it to sink faster than the type 3 of the same weight?

Is the sink rate measured in pool of water with no flow, and will the speed of river flow effect this sink rate?

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
I'm no expert but I noticed that my slimmer 8wt tips used to sink faster than some of my fatter, heavier (grain) tips when I fished winter runs a lot. I assumed it was due to diameter, and in a recent chat with Simon G. at the Fly Fishing Show he confirmed that is one of the key features Rio used to acheive the performance they wanted out of their new hi-density tip material.

So in short, yes the diameter and density too.

·
Registered
52 Posts
With regard to sink tips, one thing I do know is that Airflo is employing tungsten in their sink tips, high density, small diameter equals fast sink rates and easier pick ups. Perhaps Rio is doing the same with their type 8's.

ADP <")))><

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
juro

Juro, thanks for adding another factor, density to my observation of smaller diameter for the type 8 sinking tip.

There is probably some formula for determing the ips rate.

It can't be weight because the sink rates on my lighter 7 wt sink tips are the same as the heavier 8 and 9/10 weight tips.

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
AD Pose

Somewhere laying in some container/pack are a couple of about 5 year old Rio Steelhead semi leaders about 5' long with tungsten in the body of these semi leaders that I bought years ago.