Spey Pages banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I've just got a Sage 7136 brown IIIe used, but not too. I want to put an Abel on it, Super Series. What size? I believe I'm looking toward a Rio Windcutter 6/7/8 or versa tip (although I am just starting out spey-wise and want to make it a relatively reasonable learning curve). I fish small to medium rivers for steelhead up to 15 pounds... please help.

·
Indicators Anonymous
846 Posts
I would purchase a Super 11 for it...you could get a Super 9 (and the super 9 spool will fit into the Super 11 frame) but it would be a tight fit.

Avoide the Super 10 as it is too wide and too small of an arbor for my tastes.

Plus a 4N spool will pop into that same frame and allow you to fish longer belly lines on larger Spey rods.

·
Steelhead are cool!
572 Posts
The 9/10/11 with midbelly taken out works
quite well on 7136. It handles 15' type six
sinker no problem with very little effort.

Kevin

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
NrthFrk16 said:
I would purchase a Super 11 for it...you could get a Super 9 (and the super 9 spool will fit into the Super 11 frame) but it would be a tight fit.

Avoide the Super 10 as it is too wide and too small of an arbor for my tastes.

Plus a 4N spool will pop into that same frame and allow you to fish longer belly lines on larger Spey rods.
Cool, that's what I need to find out... being new to this I started to realize that the normal sizing guidelines were for the most part out the door. Weight is okay, huh.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Big K1 said:
The 9/10/11 with midbelly taken out works
quite well on 7136. It handles 15' type six
sinker no problem with very little effort.

Kevin