Spey Pages banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I find a 350 grain wet tip express fly line (SA) about perfect for much of the salmon fishing I do with my 9 wt one handed rod. I would like to set up a similar line (350 Grains) for my spey rod. It is a 14' 9/10 wt St. Croix. What are the alternatives to lead core attached to the end of a Rio mid spey floating line (8/9wt) which I have. I don't like casting lead core. Thanks in advance. I'm new to spey casting.

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
fishtale,

First of all, attaching a piece of lead-core to the end of the floating tip of a spey line is not a good idea and it will badly overload the rod as well. Second, either cut the MidSpey 15 1/5 feet from the tip and install loops or buy the MidSpey with tips that comes with loops installed by the factory and several different sink rate sink tips.

Third, although you could cast 350 gr sinking shooting heads with your 2-hander, it is not the recommended route to go. If you really are sold on using 350 gr sinking heads on your 2-hander, you will have to either cut the MidSpey 25 feet from the tip and install loops, or use the MidSpey with tips and remove both tip 1 and tip 2, then loop your 350 gr sinking head to what is left. This will give you a line that is about 40 feet long. And that is a very short shooting head spey line.

Fourth, why bother with a 350 gr sinking head or sink tip in the first place with your 2-hander? The rod will cast any 9 weight 15 foot sink tip and since sink tips are available up the a sink rate of 8 (about 8 inches/second, in other words, really fast sinking), it is not necessary to use a 350 gr tip on the 2-hander.

·
Registered
627 Posts
fishtale

You might try some of the rio t-14 in place of the leadcore. you will want to loop this off the belly, or the first section. you should be able to use atleast 20'.

Brian St

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)