Spey Pages

Spey Pages (https://www.speypages.com/speyclave/)
-   Tackle (https://www.speypages.com/speyclave/54-tackle/)
-   -   Multi Density Line Questions (https://www.speypages.com/speyclave/54-tackle/385414-multi-density-line-questions.html)

Put 12-15-2018 12:17 PM

Multi Density Line Questions

Looking for any feedback on Guideline's 4D and 3D+ line offerings versus other multi-density line options (e.g. Rio's new 3D Scandi, Nextcast's SHF45, Galeforce EDT etc.).

I have some experience with the Nextcast SHF 45 and like the line, though I wish it were a little longer.
length.

My primary interest for a mutli-density line is winter steelhead in Oregon/Northern California and spring trips to BC. I am curious to try the RIO 3D Scandi lines next summer/fall, but worry if they will allow me to throw tips/larger flies for winter fish where I am located.

I do have quite a bit of experience with Skagit multi density lines (FIST), and certainly will continue to use them, but I am curious if a longer mutli-density system is a viable option for winter steelhead on the west coast. I am more confident the Guideline 3D+/4D has a place in BC as the fly does not need to be as deep there.

My guess is any of the above will work anywhere depending on water conditions, but any feedback or experience would be welcomed. It so easy to just put the Skagit head on and chuck out whatever T material is called for, but I would like to begin to expand my fishing experience if possible.

Thanks

bolen 12-15-2018 02:47 PM

NC SF 45 head like F-I is between 27-31' plus 10' tip, so it is in the same range as most of 3D heads by Rio or GL. For example if your use Rio 580 gr H-I-S3 it is 40' and in case of larger fly you add 36' strong tippet, as it would be the case when using NC 45 F-I + 10' S3. With NC 45 you can also use 15' tip in 80-110 gr depending on F-I head size.

sinktip 12-15-2018 06:29 PM