Spey Pages

Spey Pages (https://www.speypages.com/speyclave/)
-   Fishing with the Doublehanded Rod (https://www.speypages.com/speyclave/94-fishing-doublehanded-rod/)
-   -   Stripers on the fly (https://www.speypages.com/speyclave/94-fishing-doublehanded-rod/380190-stripers-fly.html)

Uncle Stu 06-27-2018 04:24 PM

Stripers on the fly

1 Attachment(s)
Lost two and landed two in the surf this morning. I'm brand new at the 2 hand game, but I practiced a bunch and now... It's game on! Homemade clouser fly, Echo Classic 11' 6w, Pflueger Medalist 7/8, Airflo Sniper 40+ line.

DrBob 06-27-2018 05:06 PM

Uncle Stu,

Nice. I'm and old salt - been doing it in SW for 35 years in the Northeast. I use SH rods in the salt but nonetheless fishing for bass on the fly rod is quite an addiction. They are primarily night feeders and fishing at night is heavenly...

GHalliday 06-27-2018 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrBob (Post 2393632)
Uncle Stu,

Nice. I'm and old salt - been doing it in SW for 35 years in the Northeast. I use SH rods in the salt but nonetheless fishing for bass on the fly rod is quite an addiction. They are primarily night feeders and fishing at night is heavenly...

I agree. I live five minutes from Sandy Hook NJ and Im always sneaking out at night to fish both sides of The Hook. We are having a great season so far.

GHalliday 06-27-2018 08:19 PM

Nice fish Uncle Stu!

Uncle Stu 06-28-2018 04:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GHalliday (Post 2393656)
I agree. I live five minutes from Sandy Hook NJ and Im always sneaking out at night to fish both sides of The Hook. We are having a great season so far.

I can't imagine fly fishing in the dark with the surf around here... I can barely keep my feet in the day time. I'm always getting slammed by dangerous waves.

GHalliday 06-28-2018 08:22 PM