Haven't seen a book review for some time.. - Spey Pages
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By GR8LAKES FLYER
  • 1 Post By fshnazn
  • 1 Post By mitchaka2fish
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-02-2016, 12:30 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
montanafos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Big Sky Rivers & Clearwater River
Posts: 2,416
Haven't seen a book review for some time..

I received a PM this evening asking about book reviews...and more specifically...the lack of them for quite some time. Thought I'd post here to encourage someone to post a review of a recent read to get the conversation going.
montanafos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-02-2016, 06:08 AM
Administrator
 
GR8LAKES FLYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: All Rivers flowing into Georgian Bay
Posts: 16,490
Give me a chance to finish reading ....
I just got the new book from Colin Innes entitled "Lost Flies of Balmoral".
If your a vintage pattern enthusiast, this book is a must !!

Anyone else reading something ??


Mike
klink and montanafos like this.

Have you Swung a Spey Fly today ??
GR8LAKES FLYER is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-08-2016, 09:49 AM
Registered User
 
fshnazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2,917
I'll pipe in a review on "A River Seen Right" next week when I have more time off work. A very easy read with a smattering of history, fishing styles, icons, and legendary holes on the North Umpqua.

Adrian
Jabrowning24 likes this.

fshnazn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-08-2016, 10:17 AM
non-resident butthead
 
mitchaka2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: your home waters
Posts: 1,617
I reckon we could turn the classifieds into a book.

cheers,
shawn
fredaevans likes this.

Shawn,

First off I’m not your mate.
mitchaka2fish is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-09-2016, 02:20 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Kalama River
Posts: 294
Washington Sport of Kings - Haw… great description of salmon fisheries/management, key events, players, stats and photos.

Flyfishing for Pacific Salmon - Johnson et al… primarily for salt water fishing, but tactics/patterns, biology of five species, photos make an interesting read.

Dry line Fishing for Steelhead and other thoughts - McMillan… single hand, overhead fishing around the calendar from early '70s and mid 80s. Heavily self edited, autobiographical with period photos and anecdotes. Passionate, almost lyrical prose interspersed with his now well known antipathy for hatchery fish. Well worth a read.
kalamaman is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-26-2016, 08:48 PM
Registered User
 
jiffyjump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: moriches bay, atlantic salmon waters
Posts: 187
review of books

I have more than several that i am excited to speak about. I will do my best to lay out my thoughts but find it difficult to create my thoughts in this format. I need some advice on how to cut and paste or set up reviews here.

Bill Guditus

Somewhere behind the wheel.
jiffyjump is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 07:04 PM
Released to spawn
 
Speyducer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scotland, BC, Norway, Russia - anywhere with fish!
Posts: 4,350
of hooks, antique & modern, & their makers

anyone even remotely interested in tying classic flies will do well to obtain a copy of this book by Paul Rossman: Salmon Fly Hooks - Antique Hooks and Contemporary Hook Makers (Pine Meadow Publishing, 2014).

Superb illustrations make up the bulk of this A4+ sized slim softback, and together with a history of hooks, needles and hook making, it also provides a full description of making silkworm gut; due respect is given to the hookmakers of the vintage era, and features full-plate photos of actual hooks with an opposing plate of the details of the named & sized hooks.

There is a smattering of pictures of some classic tied flies.

The second half of the book is concerned with many of the modern hook makers and re-shapers, their output pictorially provided, and each gives a statement some of which may give superb gems of information.

This book is not a 'how to make hooks' publication.

Highly recommended


Mike

If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles (spey rods). Doug Larson

Take only photographs, retain only memories, leave only a good impression of yourself, perhaps just footprints.

Your lines, your rivers, your way!
Speyducer is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 07:34 PM
Registered User
 
Botsari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,946
Guess we aren't going to see any book reviews in the future, either, if people keep posting all of them only to this thread! :-)
Botsari is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Spey Pages forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Rate This Thread:



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review of Summer Time Waders NVswitch Tackle 18 03-23-2013 03:49 AM
Not a book, but an article, review Puffin Book Reviews 3 07-13-2010 08:01 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome