Spey Pages banner

Lining a Sage 9140-4

13K views 24 replies 10 participants last post by  Ricinus 
#1 ·
Good day to all, my first post. I have purchased a Sage 9140-4 "Brownie". I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to Spey and could use a little help chosing a line. Rio site has a bunch of recommendations regarding lines, but I'm not sure which would be better for learning- Skagit, Scandi or ???. I would appreciate some guidance. Thanks for any help.

Mike

#2 ·
A 550 gr Skagit head is a good choice if you want to go that route. When I got my 9140-4 Brownie long ago I used a DT10F line on it. I think a DT9F would have been a better choice within those ancient constraints. The Skagit head casts so much better. I think a similar weight Spey line, or Scandi line would also be fine.

Sg

#3 · (Edited)
Easy

Scandi 580gr, Skagit 650
Nextcast FF45 would be great for you, 8/9
The WA if you want tips, still in the 8/9

A Midbelly length in 650 grains is excepional on that rod. That would be the FF70 or WA70 in 7/8

We have them all

#4 ·
I built this exact rod a couple years ago except not the brownie it is a older model. Mine loves a 650 skagit. This rod never fails to amaze me I ask it to cast some big heavy junk and it does it with no effort. Or you can put on a floating tip and it will preform equally as well. It loves a slow movement and loads deep and heavy when that is done.

#5 ·
I have this rod and a few other brownies and Poppy at The Red Shed has put me in a Delta 8/9 for the 9140...a 7/8 will quicken it up a bit. I have Delta's for each rod...7136, 8150, 9140...and am very pleased. Search 9140 brownie or 9140 traditional on here and you'll find a ton of info. Watch out...you're gonna own another 3 or 4 rods before you know it!

#13 ·