Spey Pages - View Single Post - Derek Brown speyrod
View Single Post
post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-20-2001, 06:57 AM Thread Starter
ISC Archives

Originator: BubbDate: 9/20/2001 1:57 AM

Bruce,

I had the opportunity to try out a Derick Brown favorite 9/10 about 3 weeks ago. I was in the market for a 15' #9 two hander, and I was hot to try the Winston. I picked up three demo rods from the Avid Angler in Seattle and drove up to Ben Howard on the Skykomish river. I had 2 lines, a Cortland 8-9 WF Spey, and an old Cortland DT 9 Lazerline. The other 2 rods were a Sage 9140-4 & 9150-4. I planned to evaluate all 3 with the DT for a fair comparison.

To give a little background, my main winter rod is a Sage 10150-3,  I fish this rod winter and spring with a 120' Cortland 10/11 Spey taper line, with the front taper chopped off and looped for sink tips, up to 16' #11 type 4. I have been fishing this rod for about 9 years, and about 90% of my Spey casting experience is with this rod. I have also owned a Sage 9140-4, a Bruce&Walker 15' #7 Hexegraph, a Golden West 13' #8, and a T&T 1208-3.