Spey Pages banner

Looking for some user recom on echo 3

2K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  Mango man 
#1 ·
Hello there,
I am an amateur spey caster.

I came across a Echo instructor 7130i 13feet white color rod.

Or if someone has a Winston 7wt.. I am in Vancouver BC.

Price offered is $400 CAD. Brand New.

Please let me know if that would be a good Rod for beginning spey Casting and practice.

All inputs much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Dirty Harry

#3 ·
I got this white instructor rod but I feel it is very soft. Doesn't turn over my intruder fly that good in a Rio 525 grain. Can you please suggest what could be wrong?

Gear: 7wt 13'.

Rio:525 floating head, 10 ft thin poly tip + 5ft of Tippett and a 3.5 inch fly.

Thanks

#6 ·
I got this white instructor rod but I feel it is very soft. Doesn't turn over my intruder fly that good in a Rio 525 grain. Can you please suggest what could be wrong?

Gear: 7wt 13'.

Rio:525 floating head, 10 ft thin poly tip + 5ft of Tippett and a 3.5 inch fly.

Thanks
Should be easier with a sink tip than with a poly/versi-leader, due to mass of the tip. Could stand to use a lighter head also. 450grains compacted into a skagit head will turn over a large fly.

#9 ·
intruders

Well, depending on the size of your intruder flies (they can get quite large & heavy) I would start at the fly & work back. Nothing less than 12 lb mono tippet, looped to 20/25 lb butt section, total length about 4 ft, give or take. Quit farting around with those wimpy poly leaders! It takes mass to cast mass. Go with heavy (T-14) MOW tips. If the tip end of the Rio (assuming Skagit) head is less than .080 Ø, cut it back to where it is. Personally, I prefer the Airflo 540gr Skagit head. It can handle T-14 tips right out of the box.