Spey Pages banner

Scotland in Early April

2K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  82Coug 
#1 ·
I am new to Spey Pages (I am fishing buddies with Sinktip). We (a group of six) have planned a trip to Scotland from March 29-April 9, 2019. Our plan is to visit Northern Scotland and a few of us would love to fish one of the famed rivers for salmon for a couple of days. We are looking for a lodge hopefully situated on one of the rivers that could provide guided fishing service and allow our non-fishing friends to use the the lodge as a base for site seeing. I am not sure whether that would be possible, but I thought it might be a great way to visit the area while still permitting an opportunity to fish. Do you have any suggestions? Thank you! 82 Coug.

#3 ·
I was in Scotland in 2017 to play at the World Pipe Band Championships, and wasn't going across the pond without my fishing kit. After the competition in Glasgow, we made our way to Ballater, just west of Aberdeen, to which the river Dee flows.

We stayed in the most charming B&B called Morven Lodge. It's within the town of Ballater, which lies just east of Braemar where the Queen resides. Phil and Helen Tosh, the owners of Morven Lodge, are fantastic! Helen will prepare the most delicious breakfast for you, and Phil has some great stories to tell over a wee dram. They're both very fun people with whom to become acquainted. You can easily see the entire town of Ballater on an afternoon's stroll.

Keith Cromar was the ghillie on the Park beat that I fished one day. Nice salmon rolling in the river, only one of with which I was able to briefly connect. Keith is a wonderful guide, not pushy, and after showing you to your beat will retreat to take care of other work. He'll come and get you when it's time to move to another portion of the beat.

The Park beat of the Dee is beautifully maintained. Certainly not manicured, but by no means left unattended. Anyone would have a great time fishing there.