Spey Pages banner

Spey rod for stripers?

11K views 16 replies 10 participants last post by  DPB 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I am about to buy my first spey rod within the next week or 2. I am no stranger to fly casting, but I have no experience in the spey department. I'm hoping you guys can steer me in the right direction. I'll try to be as detailed as possible.

This may sound odd, but I am buying the rod for the striped bass run into a local river from a nearby lake. In a the majority of spots on the river, the water is too deep and swift to wade far enough from the bank to get the backcast I need in order to make long casts. This has limited my fishing to only a few spots where I can wade far enough into the river to allow a good backcast.

The rivers width ranges from 40-100 yards across, and in most spots is less than 5-6 feet deep. The flies I use are decievers and clousers in various sizes. I typically use them on a floating line since the stripers seem to like taking them close the surface. The average fish is roughly 10-15 pounds...and are a handfull in the rivers current.

As of right now, I am leaning toward a Winston rod, since I am able to get a once per year guide discount from the company. That being said, I have no idea what length/weight to buy. Any advice on lines etc... would be helpfull as well.

Thanks in advance for any info

Dan

See less See more
#2 ·
Spey/switch rod for stripers

Welcome, and thanks for the details about the water you want to fish!

I've only fished stripers in the California Delta and get pretty close (40-80') from where they lie. Also, I fish mostly Clousers on the end of 30' of LC13 or T-14 after a count-down and strip the fly back to a boat.

I use a single hand 10' 8 wt and succeed. I tried an 11' 8 wt switch rod and was amazed that I could cast 80-90+' with little effort.