Spey Pages banner

casting using your body for power...

6K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  bender 
#1 ·
Half-past January and a couple of feet of ice on the water. :frown2: Will be picking up my first two-hander in a couple of days so I have been viewing spey casting videos to try to get an idea on how to start come open water.

Of all the videos I have viewed, the ones posted by Andrew Moy (TightLinesinNJ channel) are the first I have seen that discuss the importance of stance and rotating at the hips/waist to develop energy for casting.

From my martial arts training, this makes sense to me (a proper punch comes from the floor, through the hip to the arm and fist) but, being a total newbie, I am not sure how much it really applies to spey casting.

Here is a link to one of Andrew's videos, I would appreciate if a couple of the experienced casters would view it and comment on its suitability.

Thanks,
Hank

#2 ·
Andrew Moy casting is very good but also very top hand dominant. I have test it and my elbow won't like it. I honestly believe learning to use both hands is better and limits go further.

In this video Alan Maughan uses both hands as levers and there is not much bending in elbows and power is produced using "latissimus dorsi". It is the best video casting stroke I have seen. In the end he squeeze the rod and lifts it slightly and it seems to get most out of rod straightening.

I have fished using mostly 15ft rods which are demanding because they are not light and I use that kind of casting stroke too because it is efficient and less tiring than other casting strokes.

For anyone interested to fly line behavior and casting should click on to Gordon Judd in that video and watch his excellent study work on more than 100 videos :smile2:

https://vimeo.com/32824516

#3 ·
Thank you Bender!

I haven't even thought of which hand was dominate, will be watching more closely. :smile2: