Sink Tip Question - Spey Pages
Spey Pages    

Home | Sponsors | Spey Clave

Go Back   Spey Pages > Spey Clave Casting Forums > Tackle
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Gallery Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-09-2011, 01:01 AM

Sink Tip Question

I am fairly new to the two handed game and I have been using home made sink tips for a little over a year now. Which leads to my question, how do you guys and gals connect your leader to you sink tip? I have been using nail knots and have ran into a couple problems with this connection. So I tried putting braided loops on and I may be over analyzing everything but with 3-5 feet of leader would the fish not see this? I have been tying double over hand knots in some old tips I have and doing somewhat of a breaking strength study with the double over hand and nail knot. So far so good but I have not floated them yet to see if the knot causes any turbulence in the water. Thank you for your answers in advance and if I am just over thinking everything just tell me that(I am a big boy and can handle critiquing). -Matt-
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-09-2011, 01:20 AM

for my tips i stripped off the outer coating (very carefully with an electricians multi-gauge wire stripper) to expose the mono-core. I strip the coating off a couple of inches and then tie a perfection loop. Then connect my leader.I have had the same knot in my "go-to" tip for 4 months now. It has handled many fish with no breaks....

http://www.mistergreenclean.net
Old 01-09-2011, 02:52 AM

This seems like a really good idea, never thought of that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatheadmatt View Post