Loving, caressing, and maintaining your Hardy reels... - Spey Pages
Spey Pages    

Home | Sponsors | Spey Clave

Go Back   Spey Pages > Spey Clave Casting Forums > Tackle
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Gallery Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 04-04-2008, 08:31 PM

Question Loving, caressing, and maintaining your Hardy reels...

A question for the Speypages.com readership that fish Hardy reels: How do you care for your Hardy Perfect and Bougle reels?

In searching the archives I didn't find much info on Hardy reel maintenance. I have been fishing a 4" Bougle Mk IV for a couple years now and figure it's time to clean her up a little. The owner's manual suggests "lubricating with a light machine oil and a good quality water repellent grease ideally before every fishing outing and always before a lengthy storage period". There is a diagram that shows the "oiling points" as the spring tension knob (the length of the regulating screw down to the keeper) and where the spring meets the pawl. The "greasing points" are shown as the spool spindle and threads, bearings, and revolving pillar (a Bougle feature). My questions are:

How do you clean off the old grease and oil?

What kind of grease and/or oil do you use? Are you particular about brands?

What points do you lubricate? How often?

And do you have any other maintenance tips for keeping these reels in tip-top fishing condition?

Thanks in advance for your help. I want to keep my Hardy, as well as any future siblings she may acquire, singing for many years to come!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-04-2008, 08:47 PM
Relapsed Speyaholic

I just use Loon Reel Lube on mine. I know some guys use a Lithium Based grease and some of the old timers used Vaseline.

"Loud reels save lives"
Old 04-04-2008, 09:07 PM
Riverbottom Boy

Hardy care