I have an opportunity to purchase a loomis syncrotech
11/12/13 with spool new at a very advantages price, for
a sage 9141-4 rod, I will be using the rio windcutter multi
tip. this is my first forray into the world of spey fishing and I
want to do it right. The other reels i'm considering are the
Ross Canyon 6 or the lamson litespeed 4 . Any feed back on
these reels would be helpfull ecsp. the loomis as there don't
appear to be many in circulation. I am mostly concerned about
drag performance in cold wet conditions.

#2 ·
I have no knowledge of the Loomis reel but the Ross and Lamson have excellent sealed drag systems and you can't go wrong w/ these drag setups.

But if you plan on using 200 yds of straight 30# dacron I believe these reel sizes are not going to fit that line. You'd have to consider gelspun or a combination (see Dana's and Per's other recommendations) to use these reels, or else go to the Canyon #7.

Maybe someone else is able to chime in about the Loomis reel, I have seen it on the shelf and that's about it. Good looking reel, that I know.

#3 ·
reel

For a WindCutter 8.9.10 spey line and 200-220 yards of 30 pound standard backing you need a reel with the rating "WF 12 Float + 300 yards of 30 pound standard [Micron] backing."

Aside from capacity, balance is important. The rod, reel and line should balance at the upper grip hold point, when the fly line's 54 foot head [for a WindCutter] is hanging outside the tip top on the ground or still water.

It is possible for a reel to be too light, causing the balance point to be above the upper cork. This condition will tire a caster prematurely.

#4 ·
Hello Bob,

Sorry to sound mean, but do you really buy that ol' nonsense? I think it was something to it when we still used tip heavy cane rods, or even the first heavy fibreglass and carbon rods.