Spey Pages banner

Spey for Sandy River/Oxbow

6K views 23 replies 12 participants last post by  harley 
#1 ·
I'm looking into getting a spey setup and the closest water to me is the Sandy River (and an occasional trip to the Deschutes). In particular Oxbow State park. I plan to fish often this winter and into spring. Can someone recommend a good beginner's spey setup (rod, line, tippet, flies) for the kind of fish I will encounter?

Thanks!
Russ

#3 ·
Check out the TFO deer creek set ups. I have one of their set ups in a 6 wt and like it. I would recommend a 7wt if you are interested in winter steelhead. PM me. I live in your area and wouldnt mind helping you get started a little bit. I am no pro but it always helps to have a pair of eyes on your form. Forgive me though if it takes a while for me to respond since I am not on this forum as much during this part of the year. It is hunting season after all.

#6 ·
If you want to do it both (Deschutes and Sandy) I'd go with a 7 wt as an 8 is a bit overkill on the Deschutes ... and a 7 can handle the sandy.
I know a guide who prefers to fish the Sandy with a 7wt 13 ft Dec Hogan.
Most people on this board swing flies. Some do both. I've only swung on the Sandy. Lots of 7 wt choices ...

Steve Egge

#7 ·
a 7wt tfo or echo would be good to start ,most people swing on the sandy ,and people might look at you funny with a two hander with an indicator there though it can be done ,I will recommend that you spend money on the reel if you dont like spey fishing a good reel will always sell ,dont go cheap on the reel if you can ,
I did and regret it all the time ,pay atleast 300 for a good reel ,do your research

#9 ·